To purchase photos visit×

New Government Sworn Into Office

Published: November 21, 2017

As approximately 250 people looked on, Democratic First Selectman-elect Daniel Rosenthal, plus several dozen other recently elected town officials, took their oaths of office in ceremonies on November 19, in the Edmond Town Hall Theatre.

In the November 7 municipal elections, the Democrats gained majority control of local elected boards and commissions from the long-dominant Republicans. The new government takes office on December 1.

Democratic US Representative Elizabeth Esty officiated, swearing into office Mr Rosenthal and Board of Selectmen members Democrat Maureen Crick Owen and Republican Jeffrey Capeci.

After taking his oath, Mr Rosenthal received an ovation, with audience members rising and heartily applauding his election victory.

Mr Rosenthal thanked his family for their support through the rigors of an election campaign. He said he looks forward to working with Ms Crick Owen and Mr Capeci as “a team of three” in addressing the issues facing the town.

The first selectmen-elect listed major issues facing the town in the coming months and years, including the creation of a new police station for Newtown Police Department, the construction of the community center/senior center building at Fairfield Hills, the improvement of town roadways, and maintaining quality education in the public schools.

Mr Rosenthal said he will work to develop a “responsible” budget for the town. While heading the town government, Mr Rosenthal said he would follow three guiding principles — strategic planning, economic development, and enhanced communications.

Mr Rosenthal recalled election night on November 7, when a cross-section of the community came together at Democratic headquarters to celebrate the party’s victory at the polls.

Of his new role in heading the town government, Mr Rosenthal said, “I’m excited and I’m ready for the task,” as cheers and applause rose from the audience.

Other officials who were elected on November 7 will be serving as the town clerk, or be members of the Legislative Council, Board of Finance, Board of Education, Board of Assessment Appeals, Planning and Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, Police Commission, and Edmond Town Hall Board of Managers.

Ms Esty administered the oaths of office to the respective groups of residents winning those positions in the elections.

In remarks, Ms Esty said that Republican First Selectman Pat Llodra has set a “high bar” for town governance in terms of leadership and judgment.

Of the November 19 event, which was billed as Inaugural 2017, Ms Esty said, “This is a celebration of American democracy… This is where democracy happens.”

People need to give thanks for the freedoms that they enjoy in places such as Newtown, Ms Esty said.

In comments at the inaugural, Republican State Senator Tony Hwang thanked Mrs Llodra for her good service as the town’s first selectman, Additionally, Sen Hwang thanked all local elected officials for their participation in the political process.

He commented on the pivotal role of families in society, describing in particular senior citizens and children.

Sen Hwang pledged that he will work with all elected officials to take actions in the best interests of Newtown.
Lisa Schwartz, the town’s poet laureate, read a poem that she had composed for Inaugural 2017 titled “No Small Thing.” The poem concerns the pleasures of small town life.

The Reverend Matthew Crebbin of Newtown Congregational Church offered an invocation. The prayer addressed leaders making fair and wise decisions, the value of respecting others, and the safety of town employees and emergency services personnel.

Quinlyn Kessler, a Newtown High School student, sang “The Star-Spangled Banner” at the inaugural, and the Newtown Police Department Color Guard presented colors.

William J. Brimmer, Jr, served as the master of ceremonies.

Besides the Board of Selectmen, those elected on November 7 include Legislative Council members Judit DeStefano, Chris Eide, Paul Lundquist, Jay Mattegat, Jordana Bloom, Daniel Honan, Ryan Knapp, Dan Wiedemann, Phil Carroll, Kelley Johnson, Robert Pickard, and Chris Smith.

Debbie Aurelia Halstead was elected as town clerk.

Elected as Board of Finance members were Keith Alexander, Mark Boland, Sr, Roger Cyr, James Gaston, Steve Hinden, and Sandy Roussas.

Elected as Board of Education members were Daniel Cruson, Jr, Daniel Delia, Michelle Embree Ku, and Debbie Leidlein.

Marianne Brown was elected to the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Elected as Planning and Zoning Commission (P&Z) members were Barbara Manville and Donald Mitchell. Recently elected P&Z alternate members are Roy Meadows, David Rosen, and Margot Snellback.

Elected as Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) members were Alan Clavette, Barbara O’Connor, Prerna Rao, and Jane Sharpe. Elected as ZBA alternate members were Joe Bojnowski, Robin Buchanan, and Christina Paradis.

Elected as Police Commission members were Scott Cicciari and Andrew Sachs.

Those elected as the Edmond Town Hall Board of Managers were Jennifer Chaudhary, Jennifer Guman, and Herb Rosenthal.

Related Articles