To purchase photos visit×

Local Republicans Called To September 12 Primary

Published: September 8, 2017

Registered Newtown Republicans are called to the polls between 6 am and 8 pm on Tuesday, September 12, to cast ballots for local primary candidates for first selectman, the Board of Selectmen, and town clerk.

Republican Registrar of Voters Carey Schierloh said currently unregistered and unaffiliated voters may register as Republicans for the purpose of participating in September 12 primary voting by appearing in person at the registrar’s office in the Newtown Municipal Center before the noon deadline on Monday, September 11.

Absentee ballot applications are currently available at the town clerk’s office during regular business hours, and up until that office closes at 4:30 pm on September 11. The town clerk’s office will also be open for special Saturday absentee voting hours on Saturday, September 9, from 9 am to noon, for anyone who will be unable to do so during polling hours on the 12th.

Ms Schierloh said that on primary day, voting will occur by district, with District 1 and 1-5 voting at Newtown Middle School, District 2 and 3-2 voting at the Reed School, and District 3-1 and 3-5 voting at Head O’ Meadow School.

The top vote-getter between Republican endorsed first selectman candidate Will Rodgers and petitioning GOP primary challenger Mary Ann Jacob will go on to represent the party against Democratic nominee Dan Rosenthal, and petitioning Republican candidate Andrew Clure in the local general election on November 7.

Mr Rodgers is currently serving as an elected member of the Newtown Board of Selectman. Ms Jacob is an elected District 2 member, and current chair of the Legislative Council.

The top vote-getter between Republican endorsed selectman candidate Jeff Capeci, and petitioning GOP primary challenger Neil Chaudhary will fill the GOP’s selectman spot on the November ballot against Democratic selectman candidate Maureen Crick Owen.

Mr Chaudhary is a current District 3 member and former vice chair of the Council. Mr Capeci is the current chairman of the local Republican Town Committee, a former Legislative Council chairman, and served as chairman for the last Newtown Charter Revision Commission.

A third primary contest involves GOP endorsed incumbent Town Clerk Debbie Aurelia Halstead, and former Assistant Town Clerk and current Newtown Social Services Director Ann LoBosco. The winner of that primary race will face Democratic newcomer Valerie Hart in the general election for the town clerk’s seat.

The Newtown Bee will have breaking news about primary results and candidate reactions available for readers at, and on the newspaper’s Facebook page on primary night after the polls close and votes have been tallied.

For primary and other local voting information, visit or call the office and Ms Schierloh at 203-270-4250.

Related Articles