Janet Robinson Recognized By CAPSS For Support Following Sandy Hook Tragedy

WEST HARTFORD— The Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents (CAPSS), a statewide nonprofit educational administration organization which represents public school superintendents, assistant superintendents, and other educational leaders across the state, recognized four educational leaders for their guidance and support in the wake of the tragic shooting which took place at Sandy Hook Elementary School on 12/14 during an event held on June 28. Among those recognized during the event were former Superintendent of Schools Janet Robinson.

“The events of December 14, 2012 are a tragedy that will permanently impact the lives of students and educators across the U.S.,” Joseph Cirasuolo, executive director of the CAPSS, said. “We are grateful to today’s honorees for their leadership and support on the heels of the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School and commend them for their exemplary work on behalf of the Sandy Hook community.”

Connecticut State Department of Education Commissioner Stefan Pryor was honored by CAPSS with the CAPSS State Leadership Award for providing outstanding state assistance and personal support for the Newtown School Community in the aftermath of the school shootings at Sandy Hook School.

According to CAPSS, the CAPSS Exemplary Leadership Award was presented to former Newtown Superintendent of Schools Janet Robinson for displaying exemplary leadership in reaction to the tragic events; the CAPSS Collegial Cooperation Award was presented to James Agostine, superintendent of the Monroe Public Schools, for providing Chalk Hill Middle School for use by Sandy Hook children and staff;  and the CAPSS Beyond the Call of Duty Award was presented to Elizabeth Osga for volunteering to support the Newtown superintendent of schools.

In addition to recognizing those who provided extensive support in the wake of the Newtown tragedy, CAPSS made additional awards. The CAPSS Presidential Award was presented to Frank Sippy in recognition of his support of CAPSS in many ways, including a term as CAPSS President, and for his exemplary career as an educational leader. Three retired superintendents were recognized with Emeritus Awards for the special contributions they made to CAPSS during their tenure as active members and for the contributions they made to the field of educational leadership.  Emeritus Award recipients include Philip Streifer, Randall Collins and Elizabeth Osga. In recognition of their extensive contributions to the organization, Dr Streifer, Dr Collins and Dr Osga were presented with lifetime membership to CAPSS.

More stories like this: 12/14, Janet Robinson, CAPSS
You must register or login to post a comment.