Nighthawks Earn Recognition

Newtown High School’s sports teams are well-represented by standout athletes who have been recognized as All State, All South-West Conference, All New England, and All American honorees. The All SWC winners were announced in The Bee following the fall and winter sports seasons.

Below are the spring season All SWC mentions, along with other award winners from all three sports seasons during this past school year:



Boys’ tennis: First Team — Cam McCleary, Keaton McCleary, Nick Klein. Second Team — Ricky Fuentes, Sean Elliott, Yossi Kohrman-Glaser. Honorable Mention — Kunal Marwah and Mike Dutsar.

Girls’ tennis: First Team — Mia Terracino, Lauren Beier, Caroline Kelly, Julia Frattaroli, Stephanie Roman, Annie Beier, Lauren Frazzetta. Second Team — Aimee Alexander, Meghan Logan, Grace Winans.

Boys’ track: First Team — Jake Feinstein. Honorable Mention — Mitchell Russo.

Girls’ track: Second Team —  Jenna Calandro, Melissa Buccino, Reagan Cerney. Honorable Mention — Amy Anyoha.

Baseball: First Team — Stephen Conway. All Colonial — Justin DeVellis, Patrick Mullins. Honorable Mention — Dean Demers.

Softball: First Team: Jessica Gibbons. All Colonial — Danielle Shine, Kayla O’Grady, Mikayla Kugligowski, and Emily Woznick. Honorable Mention — Katie Laaksonen and Gillian Galante.

Golf: First Team — Brian LeBlanc. All Colonial — Graham Hubbert.

Boys’ lacrosse: First Team — Dan Hebert, Alec Beauchemin, Jack Kearney. Division I — Deegan Beauchemin.

Girls’ lacrosse: First Team — Meaghan Brophy, Cassie Ekstrom, Julia Trudell. Division I — Caroline Kingsley, Erin Kenning, Anna Northrop, Kristie VosWinkel.


All State

Boys soccer: Eric Fiore and Drew Sullivan.

Football: Justin DeVellis and Dan Hebert.

Swimming: Noelle Benson and Nicholas Lafky.

Cheerleading: Sophia Matsis, Amy Caporale, Megan Evans, and Emma Sullivan.

Gymnastics: Leah Wallace and Elisha Wilson.

Hockey: Evan Isaacs and Tyler Hanley.

Softball: Jessica Gibbons.

Baseball: Stephen Conway.

Girls tennis: Caroline Kelly, Lauren Beier, Stephanie Roman, Julia Frattaroli, Lauren Frazzetta, and Annie Beier.

Girls’ lacrosse: Erin Kenning and Meaghan Brophy.


All New England

Cross country: Jake Feinstein and Mitchell Russo. Soccer: Amy Martin. Indoor track: Feinstein. Outdoor track: Feinstein and Jenna Calandro.


All American

Girls’ lacrosse: Cassie Ekstrom.

More stories like this: NHS awards
You must register or login to post a comment.